Skip to Content

What Is Your Love Language?

Sharing is caring!

A few years ago I read a book called The Five Love Languages. To be honest, my initial feelings on the book were mixed. While I do believe we all feel loved and show love in different ways, I didn’t see the methods as the answer to all couple’s problems. I do however think we do indeed prefer different types of affection and if our partners know what we prefer it saves a lot of wasted time, money, and confusion.

The five love languages the book outlines are:

Words of Affirmation

Quality Time

Receiving Gifts

Acts of Service

Physical Touch

I personally believe we all enjoy every one of these, but if  we had to choose one over the others we could easily choose the one that makes us feel loved the most. I knew before I even started the book which language was most likely my own, because I love to give and receive gifts. I know, I know… I feel so stinkin’ selfish when I admit this, but it’s true. I enjoy being spoken to in respectful and loving ways, I love to know that you would give me your time (especially above other things), being served is always a super sweet way to show me you care, and who doesn’t enjoy snuggling and gettin’ “physical” 😉 . The easiest way to my heart however, is to buy my love (kidding…sorta). When someone takes the time to buy me something (even if it’s just a card) it really touches me. I feel special, and loved in a way that none of the other languages touch. I guess this is why I am naturally a giver as well. I love to show others that I love them buy buying them great gifts. I always want to purchase gifts for my friends and family that show them I care, and thought about them and what they love when I purchase a gift.

So what about you? Are you bold enough to admit to the “receiving gifts” love language? Would you rather have a wake up to find the gift above on your doorstep or would you prefer to hear that your an amazing wife and mother, or have your house cleaned? My love language doesn’t just apply to my significant other, it even applies to my children. Again, this love language isn’t the only way I feel loved, but it’s my favorite :).

I think we would automatically assume that most men would prefer physical touch, but you might actually be surprised. I have found that words of admiration can be pretty powerful!

While I wouldn’t say The Five Love Languages is a marriage saver, I would recommend that married couples check it out. Knowledge is power, and if your husband/wife knows what you like they may change their methods to better meet your needs! Everyone wants to feel loved…am I right?!

Sharing is caring!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.